Futures Past | Oh What I Wanted to Be | Is Our Society Insane?

75

Futures Past | Oh What I Wanted to Be | Is Our Society Insane? 

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

I am reading R. D. Laing: The Divided Self as a teen and I am entranced by the possibility of an Anti-Psychiatry movement. I see how an insane society bends and constrains us, the population, within Western Culture, to fit a consumerist and psychological norm, which is so far from what could really be called “sane” that we are profoundly maladjusted and in fact insane.

Krishnamurti: “It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”

In The Sane Society the Pathology of Normalcy is mentioned by Erick Fromm, he writes:

“It is naively assumed that the fact that the majority of people share certain ideas or feelings proves the validity of these ideas and feelings. Nothing is further from the truth. Consensual validation as such has no bearing whatsoever on reason or mental health. Just as there is a folie à deux (a madness shared by two) there is a folie à millions. The fact that millions of people share the same vices does not make these vices virtues, the fact that they share so many errors does not make the errors to be truths, and the fact that millions of people share the same mental pathology does not make these people sane.” (p14)

Did I become a Psychologist? I wanted so to help those experiencing profound life crises. No, for various reasons, more’s the pity. However, I have found Logotherapy and see myself as a Logotherapist in the future, amongst other things.

My new vision is of myself giving therapy from my home, surrounded by roses and herb gardens, having become a writer and continuing my online and mindfulness training and teaching. The focus of Logotherapy is on meaning, rather than adjustment. This is my path to my own meaning, into the future.

According to Viktor Frankl, meaning can be found through, (presuppose the spark for life meaning, to make man capable of what they can become, elicit/make a person become what he in principle is capable of becoming), found in Psychology Today:

  • Creativity or giving something to the world through self- expression,
  • Experiencing the world by interacting authentically with our environment and with others, and
  • Changing our attitude when we are faced with a situation or circumstance that we cannot change.
     

 

Header Image purchased at Creative Market – Huge Nature Photo Set. One license only. View cool stuff to purchase.

4 comments

  1. Wow. Victor Frankel’s Man’s Search for Meaning was so important to me in my teenage or college years. Forty plus years later I still have the book. I was so surprised to see the video of him speaking here. And feel very honored to have listened to it. Thanks so much.

What do you think?

