Longing for Gravity | The Mars Configuration | Space Bones and a Longing that Will Never End

Longing for Gravity | The Mars Configuration | Space Bones and a Longing that Will Never End

curiosity-approaching-mars-580x326

You are on a mission to Mars. Because of the length of the journey, you will never be able to return to Earth. What about our blue planet will you miss the most?

I am already feeling the effect of space bones. I am becoming long and elongated, oh how I wish for gravity. Since it only takes 300 days to get to Mars, I know that this is no mission. This is a forced removal. An optimal launch has been made, when the Earth and Mars opposition is around 55,000,000 km. This can’t be good, it can only mean the worst, my mind flips through horrifying possibilities. Just like Sam on the Moon and his AI GERTY, am I too, to be cloned for some helium 3 or other mineral mining? Will some shadow of me toil away for an unscrupulous organisation, or will some AI of me toil away amongst the Mars heavy metals? I know no human can survive the ionising radiation of the Martian surface, nor the overall total configuration of Mars. I contemplate the configuration of the human mind that can conceive of depriving others of liberties, cold-heartedly manipulating life as if objects. How I will miss the inter-connectedness of all life on Earth, even though the Earthly deterioration is close to a cataclysmic implosion. Goodbye blue planet, goodbye loves, goodbye all that has made life meaningful. Whatever happens, as I write this know that my loves have been true, I will always feel everything, smell everything, touch everything, know everything, in a longing that will never end.

What do you think?

