It’s Your Party – No Celebration Just Low-Key

It’s Your Party – No Celebration Just Low-Key

Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

I keep my birthdays low key. I seldom feel like celebrating them. It is more important for me to spend time with my daughters if I can. They are now spread around the country. My last birthday was spent having tea and scones at the Botanic Gardens, they offer the best scones in Durban. I visited the Orchid House, which I love. I also include pictures of the hanging gardens, which elicits bitter sweet memories, sitting beneath the vines.

On my last birthday my daughter and I had an argument. I wanted to take a photograph of us together at the Orchid House. She didn’t want a photo to be taken.

That’s how it goes. Life in not perfect. I include the pictures I took, on a cool overcast day. Keeping it simple is best for me. Images courtesy of Carol Knox.

I like this quote:

“The older I get, the better I understand that every day is a gift.” ~ Joel Osteen.

orchid house durban botanic gardens

 Orchid House 2

Orchid House 2

Hanging Garden 2

Hanging Garden 2

Hanging Garden

Hanging Garden

What do you think?

