Sudden Shifts – Can’t Do – a Discomfort Destination

Sudden Shifts – Can’t Do – a Discomfort Destination

You’re at the beach with some friends and/or family, enjoying the sun, nibbling on some watermelon. All of a sudden, within seconds, the weather shifts and hail starts descending from the sky. Write a post about what happens next. 

I am seldom on the beach. It is uncomfortable and the sun and sand hurt my skin. I don’t like to swim in cold or even tepid water. I don’t swim too well, so the waves buffet me and I have had several near drowning experiences. The only time I am likely to be there is to walk a dog or walk along a wind-swept beach. The last time we had hail in Durban, it was the size of golf balls. The best I would be able to do is run, holding my folded newspaper over my head, the one with the headline:

Gaza bloody Sunday: 87 Palestinians and 13 Israeli soldiers killed

…as I run, the ink swishes, oozes and dribbles to become nothing but a smudge…

 

2 comments

What do you think?

