Adult Visions – “I Wish my Grow would Stop!”

Adult Visions – “I Wish my Grow would Stop!”

Dress up and the idyll of childhood.

Dress up and the idyll of childhood.

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

Imagine I did not.

Adult and child were two different if parallel dimensions. I thought adults were kind of crazy, like when they chased after me, when I picked up a tiny barn mouse. I could not understand what all the fuss was about, the running, the shouting.

But for my eldest daughter, each new phase brought on acute anguish. I remember finding her sitting in the garden, crying that the dinosaurs were all gone. A deep realisation.

I remember too, her saying:

“I wish my grow would stop!”

Her childhood idylls slipping away were not happy moments.

Image Wikimedia Share Alike

5 comments

  1. I have no children of my own, but I do have much younger siblings. When he was not quite three, I think, my brother Bryce had a similar dinosaur experience. At a museum exhibit, we had to explain to him that there weren’t any dinosaurs anymore. They were all dead. He had to know, “Who did it?”

What do you think?

