A Journey to the Dalai Lama by Dipika Mukherjee

Lovely: “So I am starting to tell this story. We all have the same destination in the end, no matter what lives we live. McLeodganj, in just 11 days, taught me the truism of the old cliché – it is the journey that makes ALL the difference.”

Chicago Literati

A Journey to the Dalai Lama

Tiny grass, your steps are small, but you possess the earth under your tread.

Stray Birds, Rabindranath Tagore

It was January 2013 and I was going to meet the Dalai Lama. His Holiness lives in exile in India, in McLeodganj, a city in the clouds where the buddhist chants are as clear as the calls of the Himalayan Bulbul. It is a retreat in the perfect sense, and I was writing my third novel.

But I could only reach McLeodganj if the Easy Cab driver would let me get off his taxi.

The taxi driver and I had stopped at a highway in the Majnu Ka Tilla area of Delhi. I had a booking on an overnight Volvo bus to Mcleodganj; access to the Dalai Lama is not easy and the overnight bus service is still the shortest route.

But there was a big…

View original post 2,084 more words

What do you think?

