Discussion Enders – “Are you the illegitimate one?”

Discussion Enders – Are you the Illegitimate One?

We’ve all had exchanges where we came up with the perfect reply — ten minutes too late. Write down one of those, but this time, make sure to sign off with your grand slam (unused) zinger.

Sorry no zinger.

A cousin I had never met before asked me: “Are you the illegitimate one?” All I could do was laugh and said nothing spectacular just: “No my Mom and Dad were married.” “Oh”, she said, “I thought you were illegitimate, because no one spoke about you, you were like a secret.”

What can I say?

That’s just how it is.

Or like when I met my absent and unsupportive father’s fiance, at the funeral of his brother. “Oh she said, who are you?” “I am P’s daughter.” She was so shocked she literally staggered back. He had never mentioned me to her. She is such a warm and just lovely person, I felt sad for her. She was very kind to me when she realised that I was telling the truth and not just some person trying to cause trouble, which is what she thought at first. I wondered how she must have felt, to not even have been told about me, only to find out at a funeral when I was introduced as C, not even: “This is my daughter C…”

That’s just how it is.

What do you think?

