August Blues – Half Remembered Half Forgotten

August Blues – Half Remembered Half Forgotten

 

As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?

As a child I always disliked school.

I disliked the routines

I disliked the rigidity

I disliked the patter

I disliked the uniforms

I disliked the focus on the norm. Anything that fell outside the middle of the bell curve was seen as a hassle.

I disliked nearly all of it. I would have thrived on home schooling. Being a quiet child singles you out. I mainly kept to myself. Schooling was not a joyous occasion. We have summer coming up. During the school years it was overly hot. I was always wistful and dreamy, trying to sit near the window, looking out, daydreaming of another life, half remembered, another time, half forgotten.

school desks

 

Image Wikimedia Commons public domain

What do you think?

