The Endurance of Rock ~ Letting Go and Surrender

RedDisa (1)

Having always held to the idea of Rock as so exquisitely expressed by Kathleen Raine in 1951:

“There is stone in me that knows stone,
Whose sole state is stasis
While the slow circle of the stars whirls a world of rock
Through light-years where in nightmare I fall crying
‘Must I travel fathomless distance for ever and ever?’
All that is in me of the rock, replies
‘For ever, if it must be: be, and be still; endure.’ “

(from “Rock”, 1951)

I have come closer to the state of being of surrender and letting go, which for me has been an act of courage:

The 13th century Sufi poet Rumi uses a wonderful metaphor to bring this to life:

“Very little grows on jagged rock.

Be ground. Be crumbled,

so wildflowers will come up

where you are.

You’ve been stony for too many years.

Try something different.

Surrender.”

Indeed I am ground, I am crumbled.

Image from Wikipedia: The Red Disa which grows on Table Mountain – Disa uniflora blooms along the Aqueduct on the Back Table behind Table Mountain, Western Cape, South Africa

What do you think?

